Who Cares? Part 2

“This country is being ruined by apathy.”
“What’s apathy?”
“Who cares?”- graffiti on a bathroom wall

I’ve noticed a distressing amount of apathy in this building as of late and I’m wondering what can be done about it.
It’s hard now to get even 15 people to come to Residents Council meetings. Planning meetings are scheduled and no one shows up. It seems impossible to get people interested and involved. Heck, it’s even a challenge to get people to read the bulletin boards.
I’ve had a number of people tell me they don’t look at them.
What would get people’s attention? I’ve tried using pictures, various fonts, and flyers in color. I even used a colored background, fancy paper, and ribbon on some of the picnic flyers and people still didn’t look at them.

Picnic flyer

I know there is a lot on the boards at times but there has to be something that will get attention. (I joked once about needing a neon arrow to get people to look at the bulletin boards. I have to wonder if even that would help.)
This is an issue because flyers and other postings are the main way we get information out to people. We also have the information online but I don’t think a lot of people look at the website regularly. (And not everybody uses the computer.)
Maybe we need to get posterboard and make the signs so big they can’t be missed.
The bottom line is it’s very frustrating and a little annoying to have information out there that people ignore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment